This is the "Home" page of the "Inspec on OvidSP" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Inspec on OvidSP (without Inspec Archive)
Last Updated: Mar 22, 2017 URL: http://iet.libguides.com/content.php?pid=528890 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Inspec User Guide



Your library provides access to Inspec on OvidSP. Although it is possible to search across multiple databases on OvidSP, it is suggested that you limit your search to one database at a time to allow for the maximum number of search fields.

Subject coverage:
physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering.  Inspec also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.

Size: 
Inspec contains 15 million bibliographic records from 4600 active journals and more than 2500 conference proceedings per year. Inspec goes back to 1969. Inspec is up-dated weekly and is growing at the rate of over 840,000 records each year. The Inspec Archive contains 873,700 records and covers from 1898-1968.

Search: 
by any of the fields, including title, author, author affiliation, and Inspec controlled term, uncontrolled terms, numerical indexing, IPC codes, chemical indexing, astronomical object indexing, etc. 

Limit by: 
language, abstract, latest update, English language, range of years, full text and journal paper

Sort by:
most fields

Phrase search: 
exact match is assumed

Truncation:  
* or $ will retrieve an unlimited number of characters, e.g. manage* will find manager, managerial, but not managing. Left hand truncation only

*n or $n will retrieve the specified number of characters. Left hand truncation only

# will replace a single character, e.g. wom#n will pick up either woman or women, but col#r will not retrieve colour

? will retrieve zero or one character.  Can be used for British spellings such as colour or flavour.

Filter Results: 
one can refine the results by selecting one or more of the items listed in the "filter results" column to the left of the results list.

Additional Services: 
You can email, print, save to folder, or download results to a bibliographic utility such as Refworks.

RSS stands for really simple syndication or rich site summary. It's an easy way to be updated automatically on web sources that you follow. 

OvidSp will automatically run your search each week and send any new updates directly to you via email (click on "my workspace" to set up).

Use "Search Fields" to create indexes of terms.  Select the field you want to explore and click on “i”

Additional information:
For more detailed information and documentation about Inspec please see: http://www.theiet.org/resources/inspec/support/docs/index.cfm

 

Inspec Training Videos:

The Inspec Database on the OvidSP platform: subject search examples

This is the first of two videos showing Inspec search examples on the OvidSP platform.  This video demonstrates how using Inspec’s subject indexing may be used to refine and retrieve results that closely match the searcher’s requirements.  The different search options are reviewed including how to refine your search and use Inspec keywords and classification codes to produce accurate results.
Play Video

The Inspec Database on the OvidSP platform: author, affiliation and other special searches

This is the second of two videos showing Inspec search examples on the OvidSP platform.  This video demonstrates how to carry out effective searches for authors, author affiliations, conference and source information, publication types, language, treatment codes and keywords in publication titles.
Play Video
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is working to engineer a better world. We inspire, inform and influence the global engineering community, supporting technology innovation to meet the needs of society. The Institution of Engineering and Technology is registered as a Charity in England and Wales (No. 211014) and Scotland (No. SCO38698). Michael Faraday House, Six Hills Way, Stevenage, Hertfordshire, SG1 2AY, United Kingdom.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip