This is the "Home" page of the "Inspec on Engineering Village" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Inspec on Engineering Village (without Inspec Archive)
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://iet.libguides.com/content.php?pid=519023 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Share a testimonial

 

Share feedback on this LibGuide

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

INSPEC User Guide



Your library provides access to Inspec through Engineering Village. Although it is possible to search across multiple databases on Engineering Village, it is suggested that you limit your search to one database at a time to allow for the maximum number of search fields.

Subject coverage: Physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering.  Inspec also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.

Size:  Inspec contains over 14 million bibliographic records from 4000 journals and between 2000 and 3000 conference proceedings per year. Inspec goes back to 1969.  Inspec is up-dated weekly and is growing at the rate of over 800,000 records each year.

Search:  by any of the fields, including title, author, author affiliation, and Inspec controlled term, uncontrolled terms, numerical indexing, IPC codes, chemical indexing, astronomical object indexing, etc. 

Limit by:  language, document type, treatment type, discipline, year or range of years

Sort by: relevance or publication year

Phrase search:  to guarantee that the phrase is an exact match, braces or quotation marks should be used; "dipole moment" or [dipole moment] will give the same results

Truncation:  Autostemming will automatically search for various forms of a word, e.g. computer, computers, computerization, computational. 

* will retrieve an unlimited number of characters, e.g. manage* will find manager, managerial, but not managing

? will replace a single character, e.g. wom?n will pick up either woman or women, but col?r will not retrieve colour

Refine Results:  You can refine the results by selecting one or more of the items listed in the "refine results" column to the left of the results list.

Additional Services: 

You can email, print, save to folder or download results to a bibliographic utility such as Refworks.

RSS stands for really simple syndication or rich site summary. It's an easy way to be updated automatically on web sources that you follow. 

Engineering Village will automatically run your search each week and send any new updates directly to you via email (click on "my alerts" to set up).

Use "Browse indexes" to help identify search terms or variations on author names, subject terms, etc.  There are additional Browse indexes in Advanced Search.

Additional information:

For more detailed information and documentation about Inspec please see: http://www.theiet.org/resources/inspec/support/docs/index.cfm

 

Inspec Training Videos

The Inspec Database on the Engineering Village platform: subject search examples
This is the first of two videos showing Inspec search examples on the Engineering Village platform. This video demonstrates how using Inspec’s subject indexing may be used to refine and retrieve results that closely match the searcher’s requirements. The different search options are reviewed including how to refine your search and use Inspec keywords, classification codes and IPC (International Patent Classification) codes to produce accurate results. 
Play Video

The Inspec Database on the Engineering Village platform: author, affiliation and other special searches

This is the second of two videos showing Inspec search examples on the Engineering Village platform. This video demonstrates how to carry out effective searches for authors, author affiliations, conference and source information, publication types, language, treatment codes and keywords in publication titles.
Play Video
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is working to engineer a better world. We inspire, inform and influence the global engineering community, supporting technology innovation to meet the needs of society. The Institution of Engineering and Technology is registered as a Charity in England and Wales (No. 211014) and Scotland (No. SCO38698). Michael Faraday House, Six Hills Way, Stevenage, Hertfordshire, SG1 2AY, United Kingdom.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip